Advice needed Snowboard boots

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by googoogaga, Mar 18, 2017.

googoogaga

googoogaga Just Registered

Hi,
    I am an middle aged beginner snowboarder and I wish to purchase boots because i care a lot about hygiene and the last boots i rented smelled really really badly.

I am willing to spend $100-200 on a decent pair, I have used freight forwarding before from the US and also China. Could anyone point me in the right direction as to brand and perhaps where to purchase? to be used in July.

Thanks!

:thumbs: grantn likes this.
    qwill

qwill Part of the Furniture Season Pass Gold

You might want to increase your budget. Unless you hate your feet.

:thumbs: googoogaga and grantn like this.
    grantn

grantn Active Member Season Pass Gold

I would highly recommend not buying new boots over the internet. Chances are they will not fit you that great. It is essential to try them on. Boots that dont fit properly can really hurt.
    If time is on your side, and you are in a city, keep looking on gumtree - that way you can go and try them on, if you are restricted to that budget. This has been succesful for me, but it will take a while. Or increase your budget and buy new, direct from a shop.

:thumbs: googoogaga and qwill like this.
    Mr. Mook

Mr. Mook Dedicated Member Season Pass Gold

Speaking from personal experience of buying my first pair of boots cheaply fit is the most important factor.
    If the boots don't fit properly you can't control the board properly.
    This stops you from getting better as a rider and puts you & other sliders in danger.
    It wasn't until I got rid of them and bought a new good fitting pair for $240 that my abilities improved, my falls reduced and I really started having lots of fun.
    Start shopping around stores now and you can find last years stock at significantly reduced prices. This is what I did and got my $240 Salomons reduced from nearly $400.