1. 17 Feb 2014. Looking for Conversation, Sports Bar, Tech Talk and the rest of the Apre topics?
    You must now register and be logged-in to view these topics. Registration is free and only takes a few minutes.

Latest ever opening in the snow making era

Discussion in 'Snow Talk' started by tomtankman, Jun 2, 2013.

tomtankman

tomtankman New Member

Hi all

No snow on the ground and minimums over the coming week which will barely dip below freezing means the resorts might struggle to open on time.

I have been skiing in Australia for 20 years but can't recall a year when there was not at least 1 or 2 lifts operating on a slim trail of man made snow over the Queens bday weekend. Does anyone remember a year when the resorts opened later?

What is the latest they have ever opened?
    pooman

pooman Well-Known Member

2001, I was there opening weekend. There was about as much snow on the ground as there is today, ie a small wet patch under each snowmaker.
    steveeeee

steveeeee New Member

what do people think are the chances thredbo will be in good shape on the weekend of june 28?
    telecrag

telecrag Addicted Member

It has become common for FV to have snow, and the last few seasons we have been spoiled at Thredbo, with HN opening. But I remember opening w/e as not usually having much if any skiing.

As to the 28th, probably be ok but limited, unless its like 2 years ago, the best early season I can remember. The Qlanders didnt know what was going on.
    benchives

benchives Part of the Furniture Season Pass Holder

I remember the season opening of 63 when the snowmaking machines wouldn't work and there was only a small bit of snow next to the RFDC gate and a little at the top of the V8 as you unloaded. Everyone just walked down with their phats in hand and spent the rest of the day surfing the Internet on their smartphones.
    vet

vet New Member

Can't be '63 coz they didn't invent snow until 1964.
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 13, 2013