I love skiing but I'm not very good at it

Discussion in 'Snow Talk' started by Annabuzzy, Jul 28, 2017.

1. Annabuzzy

Annabuzzy Part of the Furniture
    Season Pass Gold

Its a bit like a country and western lyric. I love skiing, but I'm not very good st it.

Given the level of interest I have for this sport/lifestyle I should be better. Lots better. It's not like I'm awful, but as a person who likes to be good at what I do, I could be lots better. Yes, I could live in a ski resort for a couple of seasons and that would probably have me at a level I'm comfortable with. But not now.

So there you go. The one thing outside my wife and child and maybe a few other things I love most, I'm sadly only modestly talented at it.

Life is so unfair.

Discuss.

#1 Annabuzzy, Jul 28, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2017
    Red_switch, Wardy, Chaeron and 6 others like this.
  2. JoeKing

JoeKing Part of the Furniture
    Season Pass Gold

I noticed some years ago now, that after all the effort, the kind instructors, the study, the trips, my health, I am on the other side of the peak.

But I still think skier people are cool. Snowboarders, not so much. ;)

oldgeezer likes this.
  3. climberman

climberman CloudRide1000 Legend
    Season Pass Gold

Can you switch from doing, to training and improving?

I made a concious decision a few years ago to improve my piste skiing. I'll never be amazing, but I like to think I've got better at it.

But I hears ya, loud and clear!

Chaeron likes this.
  4. Born2ski

Born2ski Part of the Furniture

My skiing jumped ahead when I spent two months skiing in Lake Tahoe some years ago. Finally got the hang of skiing powder and trees.

So bank up your holidays or take some long service leave and go spend two months at a northern resort. With a season pass and discounted monthly accommodation it won't cost you much more than a two week trip.

piolet, dr80, kaegee and 4 others like this.
  5. weerab

weerab Dedicated Member
    Season Pass Gold