Question 2017-18 Season in Espace Killy

Discussion in 'Europe' started by TT_1234, Mar 5, 2017.

1. TT_1234

TT_1234 Just Registered

Hi all,

I am new to this, so please forgive any mistakes/silly questions I have.

So just some basic information about me. I am 17 years old (I will be 18 by the start of next season). After I finish school, I am planning to spend a full season in Val D'isere - Tignes, or as close to it as I can. I don't have any suitable gear (need skis/boots/bindings/jackets/pants/gloves/helmet etc.), and I am a relatively experienced/advanced skier - I have been skiing since I was 3, mostly doing 7 days a season, though in recent years more like 4. I have had lessons most years and can comfortably handle black runs. I have never skied outside Australia, can usually handle all runs in Thredbo/Perisher. Obviously being young, I am on a tight budget.

Being young, naive and new to travelling on my own, I was hoping I could get some advice and knowledge particularly regarding costs, but also any other general advice pertaining to issues and things to consider when spending a (first) season.

At the moment, I have these current, relatively vague estimates for expenses (all in AUD):

- Travel: ~1600 (return)
    - Accommodation: ~3300 (for 5.5 months)
    - Gear: ~1700
    - Lift pass: 1750
    - Food/expenses: ~1650
    - Lessons: ~1000

- Total: ~11000

I realise that is pushing it, but do you think it is possible to pull it off for about that much money?

If you need me to clarify anything or provide more information, please ask!

I really appreciate any advice you have.

tl;dr 18yo, first full season skiing - how much will it cost? Any other advice?

2. Tanuki

Tanuki Dedicated Member
    Season Pass Gold